History Of Dublin Camogie


In 1932, twenty-eight years following the foundation of the Camogie Association, ten counties entered for the inaugural all-Ireland championship which was organised on an open draw basis. Mayo man, Seán O’Duffy, donated a silver cup, known as the O’Duffy Cup, for the championship. Dublin travelled to the Sportground, Galway to take on Galway in the first ever All-Ireland Championship final. 


Dublin’s superior attack was the deciding factor, and on the score of 3-2 to 0-2, Dublin under the captainship of Mollie Gill, claimed the first All-Ireland Senior Camogie title. The first thirteen titles were shared between Dublin (7) and Cork (6). Significantly, these were the two centres where the game flourished at school and university level. Dublin and Cork produced contests of a remarkably-high standard. The stars of that era were among the best that the game has known. Bríd Kenny, Jean Hannon, Eileen Windsor, Queenie Dunne, Angela Egan, Máire O’Kelly and Emmy Delaney were gifted players on the Dublin side. 


The Camogie Association was torn by disagreements in the Forties. Neither Dublin nor Cork participated for a number of years. This left the way clear for new champions. Antrim stepped up to the challenge and achieved a three in-a-row. While Dublin remained outside the Association, the C.I.E. club affiliated direct to Central Council and was allowed to represent the county in 1947 and 1948. On their second attempt, C.I.E. carried off the All-Ireland title, a remarkable feat for a single club. Two of the most famous exponents of the game, Kathleen Mills and Kathleen Cody, played in the colours of C.I.E. Kathleen Mills stepped on to inter-county stage as a fifteen-year-old in 1942. When she called it a day in 1961, she had collected fifteen All-Ireland senior medals.

Eighteen Titles Inside Two Decades

Dublin’s return to the playing fields in 1949 marked the start of a glorious run. Eighteen All-Ireland senior titles were captured in nineteen years. Exceptional talent was available to the Dublin selectors. It was superbly utilised by their Cork-born coach, Nell McCarthy. Teamwork, skill and confidence were the hallmarks of those great Dublin sides. In addition to Kathleen Mills and Kathleen Cody, Dublin had shinning stars in Sophie Brack, Una O’Connor, Eileen Duffy, Annette Corrigan, Judy Doyle, Kathleen Ryder, Eithne Leech, Betty Hughes and Ally Hussey.


Dublin Return

Munster teams monopolised the All Ireland Championship through the late 60's nto the ealry 80's. Despite reaching numerous finals it wasn't again until 1984 under captain Ann Colgan that Dublin secured their next, and most recent All Ireland title.Yvonne Redmond, Marion Conroy, Edel Murphy, Bernie Toner, Una Crowley, Mary Mernagh and Germaine Noonan lifted the spirits of Dublin fans with title number twenty-six.



join us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter

© 2024 Dublin Camogie County Board

Web Design Dublin by Webtrade.ie.

Web design sponsored by Webtrade.ie